Posts Tagged ‘Majorlaan’

Podcast #408

June 17, 2020

Featuring part 2 of an interview with the band Majorlaan

Royal Headache – ‘Psychotic Episode’ [AU]
Royal Headache – ‘Pity’ [AU]
Royal Headache – ‘Carolina’ [AU]
Dead Roo – ‘Nick Of Time’ [AU]
Kuya James w/Emily Wurramara – ‘Trust’ [AU]
Miss White Spider – ‘Please Awake’ [CA]
Majorlaan – ‘Captain Boastful In The World Of Action’ [CA]
Majorlaan – Interview w/Majorlaan
Majorlaan – ‘H.O.L.L.A.N.D’ [CA]
Majorlaan – Interview w/Majorlaan
Majorlaan – ‘Resilient’ [CA]
Screemfeeder – ‘Bunny’ [AU]

Our feature this week is Part 2 of our interview with Steve and Gord of the band Majorlaan, as well as Cameron Catalano, producer of their EP Wilfully Obtuse, out now on Shock Collar Records. Before that you can hear a new electronica track from Miss White Spider from the Cariboo in BC, and we introduce Australian Indigenous artist Kuya James with his track ‘Trust.’ We also rediscover the brilliant garage rock band Royal Headache from Sydney who were active from 2008-2018.

Podcast #407

June 10, 2020

Featuring part 1 of an interview with the band Majorlaan

Class A – ‘So Bad’ [AU]
Koolism – ‘Head High’ [AU]
Jackie Onassis – ‘Crystal Balling’ [AU]
This Way North – ‘You Be You’ [AU]
The Tiger & Me – ‘Adrift In Time’ [AU]
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – ‘Cameo’ [AU]
Majorlaan – ‘Rebuild’ [CA]
Interview w/Majorlaan Pt 1
Majorlaan – ‘Captain Boastful In The World Of Action’ [CA]

Fantastic oz music website Tone Deaf has consulted with artists, record labels, managers, and key figures in the scene, to curate a list of the 50 best Australian hip-hop songs ever. At the top of the show we air tracks from Class A, Koolism and Jackie Onassis, who are number 50, 49 and 48 on the list respectively. The second half of the show is devoted to part 1 of an in-depth interview we recorded with Steve and Gord from the band Majorlaan from Langely BC. Check out their EP ‘Willfully Obtuse’ out now on Shock Collar Records!

Podcast #406

June 5, 2020

Featuring Jesse Gold, Benny Walker, Dumb Angel and more

The Flashing Lights – ‘Where the Change Is’ [CA]
The Flashing Lights – ‘Half The Time’ [CA]
The Flashing Lights – ‘Been Waiting’ [CA]
The Buoys – ‘Gold’ [AU]
Benny Walker – ‘We’re Home’ [AU]
Serena Pech – ‘Please Go Lightly’ [AU]
Aquakulture – ‘Pay It Forward’ [CA]
Dumb Angel – ‘I Woke Up This Morning’ [CA]
Jesse Gold – ‘L’ [CA]
Himalayan Bear – ‘Fractal Past’ [CA]
Majorlaan – ‘H.O.L.L.A.N.D’ [CA]
The Golden Age of Wrestling – ‘Freckles’ [CA]

This week, after some 90s power-pop from The Flashing Lights from Halifax, NS, we introduce all female 4-piece, The Buoys, from Sydney and singer-songwriter Serena Pech from the Northern Territory, with a track from her EP ‘Politics’. Our mix of new Canadian tracks includes the latest from Saskatoon ex-pat Shaun Mason, aka Dumb Angel, and the title track from Ryan Beattie’s long-running Vancouver-based project Himalayan Bear.